top of page

True Love

Becoming Rorigo's wife was easily one of the happiest moments of my life. Marriage can be really difficult, we have absolutely had our days, but the good days far outweigh the bad. I had many moments where I wondered if I could/should marry him, & one of them was at the beginning of my sophmore year of college. We had been best friends for a long time & had just recently started to become serious. I became extremely ill. At the time, I had been vomitting for about a week straight, and was miserable. The routine had become pretty set, Rodrigo would go to school in the morning, then come over to our apartment and just hold me until I puked, & then he would hold me some more (gross.) I hadn't showered for at least 3 days, no makeup, I looked about as nasty as I could. I lost about 15 pounds, & finally one day it got so bad that he took me to the hospital. The doctors in the ER didn't know what was wrong, and they wouldn't let Rodrigo go back with me, so he stayed in the waiting room talking to my dad on the phone about insurance information. They ended up giving me a shot in the butt & sending me on my way. Nothing happened, I didn't feel better, the same routine commenced, and at this point I was really falling behind in school. If I remember correctly I think he actually went to a couple of my classes to talk to my teachers one on one and explained my situation. What shocked me was how every day he came over, he would always comment on how beautiful I looked. I know fully well that he was lying, but it still made me feel better & loved. After a few days of more vommitting and stomach pains we went into the college's health center. The doctor immediately diagnosed me with dehydration & gave me an IV with fluids. Within a day I was back to normal, finally. After that experience I knew that if I married Rodrigo I would always have someone that would take care of me.

Fast forward to today (I hope this post is coming out normal because I'm on all kinds of drugs.) A few days ago I got all 4 of my wisdom teeth out. I was told about 3 years ago that I should get them out, but I was in school, then pregnant, so their just wasn't an opportune time. Since I waited 3 years, I'm paying for it. The teeth had a chance to grow more of a root, & the dentist had a hard time getting them out since they were really down in there. This makes for a brutal recovery. Friday I slept pretty much all day. At night Rodrigo is sleeping on our uncomfortable couch because he snores pretty loud and wants me to get all the rest that I can. Friday night, into the morning, I woke up in an extreme amount of pain, and called to him, he came immediately and sat by me until I fell back asleep. Saturday was a little worse, I was especially missing Camila, I hadn't held her for a day, & the pain was starting to get really bad. He just kept telling me I looked beautiful, and would get anything I needed, whether it meant running to the store for more ice ice cream, mashed potatoes, etc. I was also worried about him taking care of Camila for this long, he's not used to having her all day every day, but he's been amazing with her. He's an awesome dad, she loves him a lot. Last night was the roughest night & Rodrigo said a prayer with me then gave me a blessing. I was able to go back to bed, & have been doing a little bit better ever since.

Those cheeks.....ouch!

These are only two moments in our time together where Rodrigo has shown selfless love; their have been countless more, and I am the luckiest woman to have him. I don't normally do cheesy, cornfed posts like this, but the occasion seemed to fit :):)

**Updated at 3:30 am Monday morning. I woke up around 2:30 am freaking out in a lot of pain. The left side of my face is a lot more swollen than my right & the pain is searing. Rodrigo heard me right away because he's been awake all night working on projects since he's taking Monday off to continue taking care of Camila. He gave me medicine & sat with me until I calmed down. Normally I'm not a drama queen, but after 3 days of pain & no improvement, I'm starting to freak out quit a bit. I also only have one pill left from my prescription. Rodrigo went back to working on his projects, and I am currently watching How to Train Your Dragon 2. Here's to hoping I can fall back asleep & make it until late morning!

Quick update on Camila, she turns 1 in a few weeks! She started walking right before 11 months, and she continues to constantly smile. She has an extremely good temperament and we're hoping she stays that way! She has 2 nicknames, the first being huracán Camila because she destroys everything in her path. She loves it when I put things into boxes, or her toy chest so that she can take EVERYTHING out, and then we do it all over again. Her other nickname is Camila the monkey because she climbs up onto everything, she loves climbing the stairs, & she learned when she was really little how to move things around so that she could stand on them to get onto higher objects. Luckily we haven't had any bad accidents...yet. She's extremely intelligent and observant. We just love watching her grow!


Meet the parents 

Catherine & Rodrigo 

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts

Social Media 

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
bottom of page