top of page

Our not so great, perfect anniversary

Yes I realize the title is contradictory, but the post will explain. Rodrigo & I were married 2 years ago on August 31. I cried most of the way to the temple because I didn't like my hair, & the firemen crashed our reception, but other than those miniscule things, it was the perfect day :) Here we are 2 years later and we are now a family of 3! It has been an amazing 2 years & I couldn't wait to celebrate. We decided that Rodrigo would plan our date & I would get the gift! We dropped Camila off at the babysitters (I get teary every time, she's so sweet & I miss her!) & then headed to dinner. On the way to downtown Houston Rodrigo told me we were going to House of Pies (I don't even like pie), but I trusted him and so I kept my mouth shut. As the GPS tells us the destination is on our left I look up & notice the very familiar brown strip mall ahead. Immediately I start to feel annoyed because I know exactly where we are. I turn to my left & there is House of Pies, RIGHT next to my all time favorite restaurant, The Melting Pot. If he had taken me anywhere else I wouldn't have been mad, but he had to pick the spot right next to my favorite place! That's just cruel. I turned to Rodrigo & only said, 'That's just not fair.' He smiled at me & said, 'Babe we're going to the Melting Pot.' Trickster. Mhmmm mhmm nom nom yummy yummy. It was a great dinner & of course since our evening coincided with the BYU game & The Melting Pot doesn't have Tvs ( I was really shocked Rodrigo didn't take us to a sports bar) he put it on his phone & in between courses we watched.

IMG_0792.JPG
10626579_10152260384231487_5966351315019298668_n.jpg
10646902_10152260384321487_8257900326928380464_n.jpg

The night was going great & there were 2 things left. Go Karting after dinner (I won the last time we raced so Rodrigo wanted to regain his title) & a visit to the Downtown Aquarium in the morning. We went to the Go Kart place & while Rodrigo was checking us in I went to ask the guys running the Karts where the bathroom was. They were extremely rude and disrespectful & I felt really uncomfortable. When I told Rodrigo what happened he took my hand & walked me out. I actually started crying because I felt so bad, Rodrigo has been wanting to Go Kart race since we moved here a year ago. He was so sweet about it & kept telling me to stop! We ended up sitting in the parking lot watching the end of the BYU game.

The next day a new couple moved into our ward & so we (mostly Rodrigo) spent the morning moving them in (they are awesome & I'm grateful because it's another couple who speaks English!) so no Aquarium for us! On top of it all, I have ordered a hundred things from Amazon in the past, & the 1 time I really needed it to come on time for Rodrigo's present, it got lost in transit, so no special present yet either haha. Regardless of only 1/4 things working out, it was the perfect weekend. Yeah an anniversary is a special time to celebrate but I feel like we did just that doing things we love. Serving others, watching football, and eating tons of food. That about sums us up. We have a crazy few weeks ahead of us with school starting for me (my last semester), Rodrigo starting to coach a soccer team here locally, & then we're headed for Utah & Rexburg at the end of the month! We'll be there for 2 weeks & we'll finish it out in Salt Lake for General Conference! I miss being in Utah at GC time. I cannot wait to see everybody & just feel comfortable. Living in Texas has been amazing, but I live outside my comfort zone almost daily so this vacation will be a nice break! And of course I'll have tons of stories/pictures when we get back :) Oooo I just can't wait!

Pictures!!! :)

IMG_0796.jpg

I wish I would've gotten a better picture of her last Sunday. Her dress was adorable!

IMG_0746.jpg

To prove to everyone how dark I amm..hahah just kidding. I'm still super white. This was after an intense game of kickball. That dirt took forever to get off!

IMG_0761.jpg

She can sit on her own!!

IMG_0736.jpg

Waiting to get her shots! This time was a little rougher for her :( But how cute is that hospital gown.

IMG_0733.jpg

Giggle giggle giggle

IMG_0726.JPG

At the youth carnival! We were in charge of the 'throwing the ball at the cans' station ahaha. I had to be very agile/careful so that they didn't hit Camila!

Here's my couponing picture from the week. Spent more than I wanted, (I didn't have enough coupons on me for the wipes) but considering the retail value was 89.97 & I paid 21.00, I think I'll be okay.

IMG_0809.JPG


Meet the parents 

Catherine & Rodrigo 

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts

Social Media 

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
bottom of page